Planning Commission members lead the community on local planning and development policy. Planning Commission members are appointed by the Village Council and advise the Village Council on planning matters. The Planning Commission prepares the Village’s Master Plan, which impacts the rules and regulations in the Village’s Zoning Ordinance and any potential changes to it.

The Planning Commission is also the primary body responsible for approval of Site Plans. The Planning Commission is responsible for ensuring new development fits the Village’s plans for a given site, with the help of the Village’s Zoning Administrator. They are responsible for Special Use approval recommendations to the Village Council.

The Planning Commission is the main forum for discussion of changes to the Zoning Ordinance text and map. Changes can be proposed by property owners, the general public, or the Planning Commission itself, but regardless, the Planning Commission must hold a public hearing before recommending any zoning changes to the Village’s elected body.

Time Requirements

The Planning Commission holds regular meetings meets once per quarter on the second Wednesday of the month in January, April, July and October AT 7:00 P.M. Special meetings are scheduled when necessary.

Terms of Office

Planning Commission officers serve a three-year term, and the Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary are elected each year and hold office for a term of one year or until their successors are selected and assume office.

Desired Skills

Planning Commission Board members need to be able to manage sometimes difficult situations with tact and diplomacy. Being prepared, having the ability to communicate and comprehend complex matters while balancing competing interests is necessary. In addition, members should have knowledge of issues facing the community or of local ordinances and laws and/or be willing to attend trainings and workshops to stay informed. Members should be aware of potential conflicts of interest and adhere to the Village of Marcellus Ethics Ordinance No. 234.


Members are given a stipend of $45.00 for each Planning Commission meeting, with the stipend for the Planning Commission Chair being $55.00. These rates are set periodically by the Village Council.

Commission Members

Commission Members


James Thomas Jr.

Commission Chair

George Markle

Secretary/Village Trustee

Diane Mierzejewski

Commission Member

Brian Wilmore

Commission Member

Kim Fox

Vice Chair

MEDC Redevelopment Ready Communities (RRC)

The Village of Marcellus engaged with the Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC) and has earned an Essentials Redevelopment Community  status. Stay tuned in with us as we work toward becoming a Certified Redevelopment Community.