Welcome to the Village Council of Marcellus, Michigan

The electors of the Village shall elect a seven-member Village Council which consists of six Trustees and the Village President. Three Trustees are elected to serve four-year terms on the Village Council in odd-year elections every two years.  The voters elect a President for a two-year term.

The Village Council, as the Village’s legislative body, determines municipal policies which are set forth in the Village Charter or by State legislation, adopts ordinances and resolutions, votes appropriations, and approves the budget(s).

For more information, follow this link to the Michigan Municipal League’s General Law Village Handbook, Section 2: Roles and Responsibilities, Chapter 3: Duties of Village Officials.

The Village Council meets the second and fourth Tuesday of most months at 7:00 p.m. in the Village Council Chambers at Village Hall.  December meetings depart from this schedule. In 2023, the 2nd December meeting is Thursday December 28th at 7:00 p.m. In December 2024 Council meetings will be the 1st & 3rd Tuesday at 7:00 p.m.

Minutes and Important Documents

Click on a link below to view Council Minutes:

View all Village Council Minutes here

Resolution 2022-03 Rules of Procedure/Bylaws, for the Village of Marcellus Council


Click on the link below to view Archive minutes:

View Past Minutes here

Council Members


Dennis Irwin


Ron Welburn


Sarah Engstrom


George Markle


Burke Webb


Muriel Oswalt


Gerald Haley, Sr.